You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-24 17:14:33

mfrx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 93

DMQ : Source

OK, enough with the top secret this and waffle that.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/deathmatch-quaked-source

I am working on it at the moment.  What I do need is help.

I need...
Web Designer - not code, just html / css / graphics
Graphics Artist - for webby and game stuff like splash screens
Modeller(s) / Animator(s) - preferably with source experience but immediatly able to do stuff like armours and power ups.
Mapper(s) - OG_Carbon wants to do this but I don't think he has convinced himself yet

This will be a high quality mod that will be free - as in beer.  I prolly won't open source the code and would not require any other members of the team to do so with resources that they create.

I know most of you which is why I'm posting it here first.

Progress so far - all items and weapons exist but models are all wrong.  Some functionality is missing from items.  Weapons need tweaking.

I will be getting a webby up for bug tracking and project management shortly.

I have some ideas for extending the gameplay, by adding an alternative mode but initially, it will be a DMQ/QW clone.

Last edited by mfrx (2011-01-24 17:14:58)

Offline

#2 2011-01-24 19:41:50

dirk
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 43

Re: DMQ : Source

woo hoo        dirk dreams of wonderfull graphics and full servers  smile

    i will try to learn something that may  be of help ....or just keep pm,in carbs for u  incase he falls asleep :0

Offline

#3 2011-01-24 20:39:27

OG_CaRboN
Member
Registered: 2010-11-18
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

Ok.

I'm pretty confindent I can do the splash screens, most of the graphics area, menus etc.   I've got a pretty good handle on how to do the really nice ones you see in HL2 with the water and the birds flying and shit too... so it's just a matter of carrying the same idea to a more Quakey theme and shining it up.  I'm also going to have to get ahold of Dive again -  and see if he's all good with letting us use the DM3 and DBDM1 mapping source from your original DMC:S project. There are parts of his DM3 that would make a good Splash.

Also - I'm pretty good with the web design area if you aren't picky about your content management system - I can do Joomla / Drupal, a lot of PHP / .css stuff and custom art etc.  Good w/ phpmyadmin, mysql and .db management.

As for the mapping - here's the deal on that:  I'm still waiting on a few people to get back to me on the right way of getting Source to work with GTK Radiant.  It really isn't intended for it and I'm pretty sure the "right way" is ghastly, buggy, and missing half it's features, and will break my Radiant installation.  The flip-side of this is that I'd have to hunker down and figure out Hammer, which I'm not opposed to, but it's just soooo different it freaks me out. 

Get in touch with me Steam / MSN whenever and we can work out webserver details and all the snarky bits.

Last edited by OG_CaRboN (2011-01-24 20:41:06)


meep

Offline

#4 2011-01-24 23:10:13

OG_TriX-RaBBiT
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 31

Re: DMQ : Source

gogogo do it!  also wouldnt it be fairly easy to convert the original dmc models as placeholders?

Offline

#5 2011-01-24 23:41:03

[pFc]Nextgen
Member
From: paris
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39
Website

Re: DMQ : Source

I am webdesigner is my job but I did not have any knowledge on the development so if some can handle the design development, so why not.

Offline

#6 2011-01-25 00:10:58

OG_TriX-RaBBiT
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 31

Re: DMQ : Source

after the MP component is done, is there any thought of adding a single player component??  Either a practice mode or a remake of the original game?

Offline

#7 2011-01-25 03:32:16

OG_CaRboN
Member
Registered: 2010-11-18
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

OG_TriX-RaBBiT wrote:

after the MP component is done, is there any thought of adding a single player component??  Either a practice mode or a remake of the original game?

This codebase is pretty large and is going to take some sifting.  The FC mod has given me a real leg up on doing a proper Quake in different engines thing, so it's something we've discussed... but as you say, the concentration right now is MP and getting it:  1. Functioning 2. Badass 3. Eye Candy and likely in that order of priority.

Hit me up on Failbook or MSN, Trix.  I need your Steam ID for my server's Users.ini file and keep forgetting about it...  big_smile


meep

Offline

#8 2011-01-25 04:16:24

OG_TriX-RaBBiT
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 31

Re: DMQ : Source

i should mention i never login to your server becasue ping is always 200-700

Offline

#9 2011-01-25 04:35:47

OG_CaRboN
Member
Registered: 2010-11-18
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

OG_TriX-RaBBiT wrote:

i should mention i never login to your server becasue ping is always 200-700

Well the hell with ya then.  I'll set you to perma-llama tongue

Also, Beast clocks in better than that from Germany.  What's your connection situation?

Last edited by OG_CaRboN (2011-01-25 04:39:36)


meep

Offline

#10 2011-01-25 04:55:55

OG_TriX-RaBBiT
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 31

Re: DMQ : Source

3 meg down 1.5 up. every server has lots of lag for me cept for east coast dmq, which is like 37. fireballs is like 85... those two hookmod servers are like 50-60

Offline

#11 2011-01-25 06:02:51

OG_CaRboN
Member
Registered: 2010-11-18
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

OG_TriX-RaBBiT wrote:

3 meg down 1.5 up. every server has lots of lag for me cept for east coast dmq, which is like 37. fireballs is like 85... those two hookmod servers are like 50-60

There has to be a way to blame this on the Obama Administration.  I just haven't figured it out yet.


meep

Offline

#12 2011-01-25 06:21:03

OG_TriX-RaBBiT
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 31

Re: DMQ : Source

on ql i ping  38 to va 46 to ga 49 to ny 66 to il 75 to toronto and 75 to tx

Offline

#13 2011-01-25 10:30:57

mfrx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

Dirk:  We have a plan for you - will chat on steam.

Nextgen: Did you do the graphics for deathmatch-classic.com?

Everyone: Join #dmqs on quakenet if you want :-)

Offline

#14 2011-01-25 11:49:56

Rob
Administrator
Registered: 2010-07-06
Posts: 20

Re: DMQ : Source

Would a DMQ:S subforum on here be handy? Or have you already got something set up for that?

Offline

#15 2011-01-25 13:42:04

mfrx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

Nah - I am working on something at the moment - but thanks anyway!

Offline

#16 2011-01-25 18:48:32

[pFc]Nextgen
Member
From: paris
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39
Website

Re: DMQ : Source

i have finish the design for deathmatch-classic.com but i havent a coder now. he work to other site hmm

Offline

#17 2011-01-26 22:22:45

mfrx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

OK, we have a site - it is yet to be made sexy, but it works.

http://www.dmqsource.com/

Offline

#18 2011-01-27 03:26:16

OG_TriX-RaBBiT
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 31

Re: DMQ : Source

hopefully dive will let his maps be in again, including his source port of dm3

Offline

#19 2011-01-27 10:01:56

[pFc]Nextgen
Member
From: paris
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39
Website

Re: DMQ : Source

mfrx to night i work the webdesign for dmq source

Offline

#20 2011-01-27 11:38:13

mfrx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

Cool - chat to me on steam first.

Offline

#21 2011-01-27 22:54:13

[pFc]Nextgen
Member
From: paris
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39
Website

Re: DMQ : Source

sitedmqsource.jpg

Design create for Dmqsource.com.

What art you think? Write your impressions!

Enjoy nextgen.

Offline

#22 2011-01-28 17:56:52

oRe
Member
Registered: 2010-12-22
Posts: 6

Re: DMQ : Source

[pFc]Nextgen wrote:

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/3476 … source.jpg

Design create for Dmqsource.com.

What art you think? Write your impressions!

Enjoy nextgen.


Looks nice Nextgen, but why do you use Quake 4 Logo instead of the Quake 1 Logo?

Otherwise, why don't you create a standalone logo for DMQ:S? ;D

Offline

#23 2011-01-28 19:31:22

Rob
Administrator
Registered: 2010-07-06
Posts: 20

Re: DMQ : Source

[pFc]Nextgen wrote:

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/3476 … source.jpg

Design create for Dmqsource.com.

What art you think? Write your impressions!

Enjoy nextgen.

I think it looks amazing! Looking forward to the finished site


oRe wrote:

Otherwise, why don't you create a standalone logo for DMQ:S? ;D

First thing that came to mind: crowbar

Offline

#24 2011-01-28 20:26:16

OG_CaRboN
Member
Registered: 2010-11-18
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

Ok guys:  Here's the skinny on the logo...

We've agreed on one and I'm working on getting it all nice and shined up here, will post it in a bit.  Not trying to disappoint anyone here, but here's the explanation:

The problem with using the Quake logo at all is:  It's a trademark of Id Software.  We can't use it.  While I'd like to think they would let it slide - there's a good chance this will get quite a bit of exposure at some point and we want to make sure we've dotted all our i's and crossed the t's legally.  mfrx and I have discussed this to some length and there is an insistence that we keep the mod legit:  This means doing things the right way.  Mod development can be tricky that way and the "Cover Your Ass" rule thoroughly applies in most situations.


meep

Offline

#25 2011-01-28 20:42:37

mfrx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 93

Re: DMQ : Source

Sorry this is late - I should have posted earlier - if you do want to help out, please check this out: http://dmqsource.com/Forums/Thread.aspx … &thread=14

Offline

Board footer